What does a governor do?

The three main responsibilities of every governing board are:
  1. Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The role of a governor is to contribute to the work of the governing body in ensuring high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school. 

For more information please download the National Governors' Association guide "What does a Governor do?"

Meet the Governors

The term of office of all Governors listed is the current academic year AND all Governors listed were appointed prior to academisation (1st August 2017) with all Parent Governors elected by the parents of registered children.

Nick Langridge - Chair

Stuart Relf

Parent Governor

Mike Clifford

Clare Wheatley - Vice Chair

Bradina Freedman

Parent Governor

Toni Bennett

Staff Representative

Claire Brunt

Hugo Venter

Parent Governor

Jo Blackburn

Head Teacher

Governor Committees

Staff Pay and Performance Committee:


Claire Brunt - Chair

Bradina Freedman

Nick Langridge

Other committees are created as and when required.